Hollee Heal


Hollee Heal

Position: HSE Coordinator

Job title and employer:

Health, Safety, Environmental Coordinator- Northern Mat and Bridge LP


What does your job title mean?

Field coordinator that ensures crews are following all procedures and working safely to prevent injuries and environmental damage. Working on Energy and construction sites through out BC.

Background information:

Where were you born? Where did you grow up?

I was born in St. John’s, NL. Grew up in Newfoundland and Labrador, as well as in Maine, USA.

Where do you live now?

Edmonton, Alberta

Where did you complete your training or education?

I completed a Diploma in Environmental Engineering Technology/Environmental Technology at the College of the North Atlantic, St. John’s, NL


What you do at work?

As an HSE Coordinator at Northern Mat and Bridge, I am an advisor. I help my crews get the job done with safety, the environment, and efficiency in mind. As an Environmental Technologist I assist with identifying sensitive ecosystems and wetlands. I also help prevent the spread of invasive/nuisance plants/species and conduct animal/bird surveys. When cleaning our equipment I deal with chemicals and ensure proper quantities and quality. This requires chemical tests and sampling.

I also conduct noise testing on our job sites. This is to ensure our employees are not exposed to loud noises that could damage their hearing.

How does what you do affect people’s lives?

I help my crew go home at the end of the day in the same shape as when they arrived at work. By completing observations and looking for hazards, I can prevent injuries and incidents. I also ensure we meet client requirements. This helps make sure we get future work.


What motivates you in your career?

I enjoy the travel and being outdoors. I have the opportunity to work all over BC in all kinds of environments. Though I do paperwork, I’m not stuck in an office. I’m on site and get to experience some of Canada’s biggest projects. I like being in the action and seeing our jobs first hand.

I also enjoy learning about the different ecosystems and animals around each job. In my role, I can be a voice for them and have the scientific information to help protect them.


How did you get to where you are today?

After high school, I enrolled in a three-year Environmental Technologist diploma program. This program teaches graduates to work in a variety of environmental roles. These roles include pollution monitoring, conducting environmental audits, environmental management, site assessment and remediation, project management, and waste management.


The program I did was a co-op program. This meant that I spent time working on job sites where I could apply what I had learned in class. Being an Environmental Technologist allowed me to get a work term on an Industrial Construction job in the Albert Oil Sands. From there I completed my schooling and pursued additional training in Safety. By having education in two backgrounds, I have made myself a valued employee. I have built my career in Industrial Construction, Oil & Gas, and Energy projects.


What activities do you enjoy outside of work?

After work, I make the most of exploring the towns where we are working. I support the local economy by visiting their shops, restaurants and art/craft stores. Outdoor photography has been a bonus with all my travel. When I’m home I enjoy time with my family and doing home renovations.


What advice would you give to a young person interested in a similar career?

Finish your schooling and get your certificates. Make sure you develop your people skills. High profile, high stress jobs are not for everyone; find a field you enjoy then chose your career.  It’s okay to shift around.


As a female professional, how can you influence the advancement of women in engineering and technology?

We work in some adverse climates and locations, I make sure to have a presence and remain professional. By being an asset to my team, it demonstrates women are capable of these jobs and can work in remote locations and on complex projects.



When I was in high school, I enjoyed…



Physical Education/Health




When I was in high school, I was someone who…

Brought people together

Always wanted to be outside

Liked helping people

Organized activities for my friends

Played on a sports team

Was motivated by success

Liked being given specific instructions

Felt at home in the outside, natural environment

Felt great satisfaction in getting good grades

Wasn’t sure what I wanted to do

Engaged in activities such as fishing, berry picking and hunting


ASTTBC thanks Let’s Talk Science for their partnership in developing this career profile.  Let’s Talk Science – a leading partner in Canadian education – is a national charitable organization committed to inspiring and empowering Canadian youth to develop the skills they need to participate and thrive in an ever-changing world. To accomplish this, Let’s Talk Science offers a comprehensive suite of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) based programs to support youth, educators, and volunteers across Canada. For more information about Let’s Talk Science, visit letstalkscience.ca.

Lets Talk Science logo

#CareerDiscovery #LetsTalkScience